Teachers Helping Others

The Canadian Teachers’ Federation has a long history in responding to calls for international aid whenever disaster strikes and in supporting public education through research and social justice initiatives. Through its Trust Fund, CTF welcomes donations from teachers and individuals who are interested in supporting these initiatives. To find out more, follow the links below:

The CTF Trust Fund

The CTF Trust Fund is a registered Canadian charity charged with the responsibility to carry out programs that allow the Canadian teaching profession to serve the public interest. The Trust Fund was established in 1965 by the CTF Board of Directors as a means of handling and accounting for outside sources of income earmarked for special purposes within the CTF mandate.

The main objectives of the Trust Fund are the governance of the International Aid Fund and the International Cooperation Program under an agreement with the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA).

Individual donations are greatly appreciated and maintain the supportive links established through our programs. For contributions of $10 or more, the CTF Trust Fund, as a registered Canadian charity, will provide an official receipt for income tax purposes.

International aid fund

The CTF Trust Fund manages Canadian Teachers’ Federation contributions for humanitarian assistance. CTF provides $10,000 a year, which may be complemented by funds from CTF Member organizations and individual teachers in response to natural disasters and emergencies.

In 2008-2009 the CTF Trust Fund contributed:

  • $1,000 to Haiti (CNEH) with collaboration with CSQ for post hurricane humanitarian assistance;
  • Up to $5,000 additional funds pledged for Haiti (CNEH) pending receipt of a proposal in support of isolated teachers during recovery and reconstruction;
  • Up to $5,000 was pledged for Zimbabwe (ZIMTA) upon receipt of details for assistance to teachers.

Teachers are often key players in times of emergency and turmoil. CTF recognizes the efforts of those teacher partners who provide stability and hope by continuing the education of children during periods of instability, unrest and war.

Art for AIDS International

Art for AIDS International is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising funds and awareness for those most affected by the HIV/AIDS pandemic, specifically the women and children of sub-Saharan Africa. By engaging students through art and HIV/AIDS awareness workshops, Art for AIDS International fosters a perspective of hope and passion for tomorrow’s leaders while providing direct support to not-for-profit organizations across Africa.

Art for Aids International focuses on three distinct areas:

  1. HIV/AIDS Education and Advocacy through Art and Youth based programming.
  2. Offering funding to organizations working with women and children in sub-Saharan Africa.
  3. Providing scholarship funding for children otherwise unable to attend school across sub-Saharan Africa. This includes the fees for tuition, books, uniforms, and depending on the location of the school, accommodations.

Art for AIDS International organizes school workshops in both Canada and Africa that educate young people in the causes and spread of the HIV/AIDS pandemic. Students are shown how to artistically translate their insights into the production of original collage artworks. These collages are produced into original machine-made limited edition prints that are signed and numbered by the individual student artist. Each print is titled by the student and contains an artist's statement.

The young artists whose work is contained in these portfolios have offered their work freely to the cause as an expression of their personal commitment to a better world.

If you have any questions or inquiries please contact: info@ctf-fce.ca

Le personnel enseignant au service d’autrui

La Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants s’emploie depuis longtemps à répondre aux appels à l’aide internationale lancés par suite de catastrophes et à appuyer l’éducation publique par des recherches et des initiatives de justice sociale. Par l’entremise du Fonds en fiducie, la FCE accepte les dons des membres de la population enseignante et de la population en général qui désirent soutenir ces initiatives. Pour plus d’information, veuillez suivre le lien ci-dessous.

Fonds en fiducie de la FCE

Organisme de bienfaisance enregistré au Canada, le Fonds en fiducie de la FCE est chargé de réaliser des programmes qui permettent aux membres de la profession enseignante du Canada de servir l'intérêt public. Il a été créé en 1965 par le Conseil d’administration de la FCE pour administrer et comptabiliser les fonds provenant de sources externes et réservés à des fins spéciales dans le cadre du mandat de la FCE.

Le Fonds en fiducie a pour principale responsabilité l’administration de la Caisse d’aide internationale et du Programme de coopération internationale en vertu d’une entente avec l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI).

Organisme de bienfaisance enregistré au Canada, le Fonds en fiducie de la FCE vous est grandement reconnaissant de vos dons individuels qui aident à maintenir les liens d’appui établis par nos programmes. Il vous fera parvenir un reçu aux fins du calcul de l’impôt sur le revenu pour tout don de 10 $ ou plus.

Caisse d’aide internationale

Le Fonds en fiducie de la FCE gère les contributions de la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants à l’aide humanitaire. La Fédération affecte un montant de 10 000 $ par année à la Caisse, auquel s’ajoutent les sommes que versent les organisations Membres de la FCE et des enseignantes et enseignants par suite de catastrophes naturelles et d’urgences nationales.

Contributions du Fonds en fiducie de la FCE en 2008-2009 :

  • Un montant de 1 000 $ a été envoyé à Haïti (CNEH), avec l’appui de la CSQ, pour une aide humanitaire après les ouragans;
  • Des fonds supplémentaires pouvant atteindre 5 000 $ ont été promis à Haïti (CNEH) en attendant de recevoir une proposition pour aider les enseignantes et enseignants des régions isolées pendant le rétablissement et la reconstruction;
  • On a promis au Zimbabwe (ZIMTA) un montant pouvant atteindre 5 000 $ à la réception des détails de l’aide destinée au personnel enseignant.

Les enseignantes et enseignants sont souvent des intervenants clés en situation d’urgence et de bouleversement. La FCE reconnait les efforts des organisations partenaires de la profession enseignante qui continuent d’assurer la stabilité et l’espoir en poursuivant l’éducation des enfants durant les périodes d’instabilité, d’agitation et de guerre.

Art for AIDS International

Art for AIDS International est un organisme sans but lucratif qui se consacre à la collecte de fonds et à la sensibilisation pour venir en aide aux personnes les plus touchées par la pandémie du VIH/sida, en particulier les femmes et les enfants, en Afrique subsaharienne. En faisant participer les élèves à des ateliers d’art et de sensibilisation au VIH/sida, Art for AIDS International nourrit l’espoir et la passion des leaders de demain tout en finançant directement des organismes sans but lucratif en Afrique.

Art for Aids International vise trois principaux secteurs d’intervention :

  1. Éducation et sensibilisation au VIH/sida par l’entremise de programmes d’art et de programmes pour les jeunes.
  2. Financement d’organismes qui travaillent auprès des femmes et des enfants en Afrique subsaharienne.
  3. Bourses d’études destinées aux enfants de l’Afrique subsaharienne qui, autrement, n’auraient pas accès à l’école. Ces bourses couvrent les droits de scolarité, les manuels, les uniformes et parfois le logement, selon l’emplacement de l’école.

Art for AIDS International organise des ateliers dans les écoles du Canada et de l’Afrique pour sensibiliser les jeunes aux causes et à la propagation de la pandémie du VIH/sida. Les élèves y apprennent à traduire leurs émotions en collages artistiques originaux. Ces collages sont ensuite imprimés en nombre limité, et chacune de ces reproductions, numérotée et signée, porte un titre et une citation choisis par l’artiste.

Les jeunes dont les œuvres sont présentées dans ces portfolios ont donné le fruit de leur travail à la cause, en guise de contribution personnelle à un monde meilleur.

Pour toute question, écrivez à : info@ctf-fce.ca.