Until June 2015, Heather Smith was a principal and teacher at Janeville Elementary School just outside Bathurst. She has a Bachelor of Child Study degree in Elementary and Special Education and a Master of Education in Literacy from Mount Saint Vincent University. Heather has taught for 32 years at the elementary level, all in New Brunswick with her teaching duties primarily split between Kindergarten and Grade 4.

Principals continue to be members of the New Brunswick Teachers’ Association and Federation (union), which allowed Heather to assume fulltime duties as President of the New Brunswick Teachers’ Association on August 1, 2011 for a two-year term. While in office, Heather was on the negotiating team that maintained the integrity of the NB teachers’ collective agreement and attained a new family discretionary day in a tight, fiscally strapped government environment.

While NBTA President, Heather attempted to meet with many different groups including the Department of Education, politicians, universities, other related professionals and even many in the private sector. It is her belief that, while not all of their views would be the same as those of teachers, it is essential to educate and influence those whose decisions may impact the teachers and students in our education system.

In 2011, Heather received national recognition, being the only New Brunswick educator named by the Learning Partnership as one of Canada’s Outstanding Principals for 2011. She has been increasingly drawn towards the challenge of providing comprehensive services for students with high needs, whether they are at-risk for physical, emotional or situational reasons.

Jusqu’au mois de juin 2015, Heather Smith occupait le poste de directrice et enseignante à l’école élémentaire Janeville située tout près de Bathurst. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en éducation (palier élémentaire) et en éducation de l’enfance en difficulté, et d’une maitrise en éducation (alphabétisme) de l’Université Mount Saint Vincent. Elle a enseigné 32 ans au palier élémentaire au Nouveau-Brunswick, principalement à la maternelle et en 4e année.

Comme les directeurs et directrices d’école sont membres de la New Brunswick Teachers’ Association (NBTA) et de la Fédération des enseignants du Nouveau-Brunswick, Heather a pu assumer la présidence de la NBTA, à temps plein, à partir du 1er aout 2011, pour un mandat de deux ans. À ce titre, elle a fait partie de l’équipe de négociation qui a assuré l’intégrité de la convention collective des enseignantes et enseignants du Nouveau-Brunswick et obtenu un nouveau congé discrétionnaire, la journée de la famille, malgré le budget très serré du gouvernement.

Pendant son mandat de présidente de la NBTA, Heather a tenté de se réunir avec de nombreux groupes différents, dont le ministère de l’Éducation, des responsables politiques, des universités et d’autres professionnelles et professionnels compétents, et même avec des groupes du secteur privé. Elle estime que, bien que ces personnes ne partagent pas toutes les opinions du personnel enseignant, il est essentiel de les sensibiliser et de les influencer, car leurs décisions peuvent avoir des répercussions sur le personnel enseignant et les élèves.

En 2011, Heather a été la seule éducatrice du Nouveau-Brunswick cette année-là à recevoir du Partenariat en éducation le titre de « directrice exceptionnelle du Canada ». Elle est de plus en plus déterminée à relever le défi d’offrir des services complets aux élèves ayant des besoins particuliers, qu’ils soient à risque pour des raisons physiques, émotionnelles ou situationnelles.