It was on a snowy morning in October, 1919 that four teachers met in a little lumber room in the old Board of Trade building during a Conference on Education, Character and Citizenship in Winnipeg to consider matters of common interest to the teachers of the four Western provinces of Canada.

Harry Charlesworth, secretary of the British Columbia Teachers' Federation proposed to E.K. Marshall of Manitoba that a federation of teacher organizations in the four Western provinces be formed. That meeting in the little lumber room thus marked the beginning of the Canadian Teachers' Federation.

During the year, the teachers of Alberta and Saskatchewan were approached and it was agreed to hold an organizational meeting in Calgary during the summer of 1920.

Representatives from the four Western provinces convened a meeting in the Calgary Public Library on July 27, also attended by two representatives from Ontario. The Western alliance was discarded in favour of a national organization with support from the Maritime provinces and Québec. The movement was launched with an initial membership of approximately 9,000 teachers.

To this date, the purpose of the alliance was to create an organization "to provide machinery by which the various provincial and territories organizations could be kept in touch with one another, and through which mutual assistance could be quickly and readily given". This remains the main objective of the Canadian Teachers' Federation.

In 1946, CTF incorporated under the provisions of Part II of the Companies' Act.

In January 1948, CTF established a central office in Ottawa and appointed a full-time secretary-treasurer. In 1970, the presidency of CTF became a full-time position.

The humble dream of a few farsighted educators in 1920 has become a well-respected voice on education matters and issues of social justice at the provincial/territorial, national and international levels.

First Executive of the Canadian Teachers' Federation
Calgary, AB — July 27, 1920

Un matin neigeux, en octobre 1919, quatre membres de la profession enseignante se réunissent dans le petit débarras de l'ancien édifice de la Chambre de commerce de Winnipeg à l’occasion d’une conférence sur l’éducation, le caractère et la citoyenneté, afin d’étudier des questions d’intérêt commun aux enseignantes et enseignants des quatre provinces de l'Ouest du Canada.

Harry Charlesworth, secrétaire de la Fédération des enseignantes et enseignants de la Colombie-Britannique, propose alors à E.K. Marshall du Manitoba la mise sur pied d'une fédération des organisations de la profession enseignante des quatre provinces de l'Ouest. C’est dans ce contexte que germe la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants.

Au cours de l'année, on communique avec la population enseignante de l'Alberta et de la Saskatchewan et il est convenu de tenir une assemblée inaugurale à Calgary pendant l'été 1920.

Des personnes représentant les quatre provinces de l’Ouest convoquent cette assemblée qui a lieu le 27 juillet à la bibliothèque municipale de Calgary, et à laquelle assistent également deux membres du personnel enseignant de l’Ontario. L'idée d'un regroupement des provinces de l'Ouest est abandonnée au profit de celle d'une organisation nationale bénéficiant de l’appui de la profession enseignante des provinces Maritimes et du Québec. Le mouvement est lancé et compte au début environ 9 000 membres.

À ce jour, le but de l’alliance est de créer une organisation qui puisse « offrir un mécanisme permettant aux diverses organisations provinciales (et territoriales) d’entretenir des rapports les unes avec les autres et de s’épauler rapidement et facilement. » Voilà qui résume toujours le principal objectif de la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants.

En 1946, la FCE est constituée en vertu des dispositions de la Partie II de la Loi des compagnies.

En janvier 1948, la FCE établit un bureau central à Ottawa et nomme un secrétaire-trésorier à plein temps. En 1970, la présidence de la FCE devient une charge à plein temps.

Le rêve modeste de quelques éducatrices et éducateurs sagaces en 1920 s’est réalisé : la FCE est devenue une porte-parole estimée en matière de dossiers éducationnels et de questions de justice sociale sur la scène provinciale ou territoriale, nationale et internationale.

Première réunion du Comité exécutif
de la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants
Calgary (Alberta) — le 27 juillet 1920