The use of technology has increased dramatically in recent years, but the standards of professionalism have not changed. Teachers are professionals and expected to model ethical and appropriate cyberconduct. Teachers hold a position of trust with students and will be held accountable if their actions expose students to inappropriate material or communications. Remember, nothing is truly private when you communicate digitally. When you use school board equipment and networks, your employer has access to all your messages and any sites you have browsed.


Nothing posted is ever completely erased from the Internet. Anything can generate unintended consequences far into the future. “Friending” students, posting pictures of partying, or sending overly casual messages or texts to students, parents and others may lead to professional difficulties you did not anticipate. People tend to feel safe when surrounded by “friends”. While sitting alone in front of a monitor, it is easy to forget that you are on a public forum. Consequently, the line between our public and private lives becomes blurred, making it easy to mistake a webpage for a diary.


  • Do maintain exemplary professional standards when sending email messages to students, parents, colleagues and administrators.
  • Don’t use your personal email accounts to contact students or parents.
  • Do keep copies of all your email messages.
  • Don’t share your user name and password with colleagues or students.
  • Do use a teacher voice when communicating with students via email.
  • Don’t leave your computer on and unattended when students are around.
  • Do use a signature that includes your name, assignment title and school name.
  • Don’t send unnecessary attachments with your emails.


The growth of social media since 2004 has been nothing short of phenomenal, giving rise to a wide range of networking sites such as Twitter, YouTube, MySpace, LinkedIn, Flickr and Google+. Both Facebook and Google+ allow their users to form groups/circles of “friends” and publish information of varying nature in text, image or video as status updates. They allow friends to interact with each other, including the ability to “tag” others in photos. Both these sites encourage users to gather as large a number of friends as possible because it helps generate enormous revenue from targeted advertising.

Social networking sites can carry tremendous benefits in one’s professional development but can also present pitfalls. As educators, we have a professional image to uphold and how we conduct ourselves online holds no exceptions. Before launching a Facebook or Google+ page for your class or school, please check your school board policy with respect to the types of information that can be posted and shared with the world. With a little forethought, these social networking sites can offer a variety of educational benefits without risking any safety to students or members of the school community.

Users of social networking should consider the following:

  • Familiarize yourself with the networking site’s privacy policy and activate your own privacy settings.
  • Never “friend” a student on your personal Facebook or Google+ account. You can set up a separate profile to be used only for school, based on the professional teacher-student relationship. This will require using a different email from that which you’ve signed up for your personal account.
  • Do not permit images of yourself to be taken and posted on any site without appropriate privacy safeguards; learn how to “untag” photos.
  • Never post criticism of—or share confidential information about—colleagues, students or administrators.
  • Never post confidential images or information about yourself.
  • Do not post anything on a social media site that you would not post on the bulletin board outside of your classroom.
  • Establish professional boundaries. Do not share any of your personal information with students (.eg. photos), and do not succumb to doing so if students ask
  • Only communicate with students online in media where a record or transcript of each conversation is automatically made, to have as evidence if any concerns arise down the line. Please note that you must download special apps in both Facebook and Firefox to be able to log Facebook chats.
  • If you’re going to “chat” with students online, ensure you set up “office hours” so that you are free to end the conversation when the time is up. You may also want to set time limits on how long you speak with each student.
  • Interacting with colleagues online can be a great way to stay connected. However, you should avoid using online conversations to vent frustrations arising either from your professional or personal lives.


Cyberbullying is the use of information and communication technologies to bully, embarrass, threaten or harass another person. It also includes the use of these technologies to engage in conduct or behaviour that is derogatory, defamatory, degrading, illegal or abusive.

Despite all precautions, if you or one of your students become targeted by cyberbullying:

  • Make copies of all questionable messages, web postings, information and other related material and data, including the URL.
  • Demand that the sender stop transmitting or posting the material and state that the conduct is unacceptable and inappropriate; do not further engage the person who is targeting you as this may escalate the situation.
  • Advise the administration of your school if the situation requires immediate action and/or the inappropriate communication continues.
  • Access appropriate support and guidance through the school board or district cyberconduct policy or manual.
  • Request that the administration contact the parents of the student who is cyberbullying you or one of your students.
  • Inform and involve your schoolbased occupational health and safety committee.
  • Contact your teacher organization if the actions taken to address the inappropriate communication are ineffective or if you need further support or advice.

At least two forms of cyberbullying are considered criminal acts—communicating repeatedly with someone if the communication causes a person to fear for his or her health and safety; and publishing defamatory libel—something that is designed to insult a person or likely to hurt a person’s reputation by exposing him or her to hatred, contempt or ridicule. Spreading hate or discrimination based on race, national or ethnic origin, colour, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, family status or disability may be a violation of the Canadian Human Rights Act and/or provincial or territorial human rights legislation.


Activities that can result in disciplinary action against a teacher:

  • Visiting inappropriate websites (i.e. those featuring adult, racist or pornographic content).
  • Sending or forwarding offensive jokes and pictures via email.
  • Online gambling using school board equipment.
  • Downloading audio, video or text-based materials in violation of copyright laws.
  • Using the employer’s equipment to engage in activities related to a second occupation.
  • Constant text messaging, instant messaging and/or emailing during school time.
  • Web browsing to sites not related to the curriculum.
  • Posting pictures of yourself, especially if they are suggestive or inappropriate.
  • Posting comments about students, parents, colleagues or administration.
  • Engaging in personal email exchange with students.
  • Engaging in inappropriate conversations about fellow colleagues through email or social networking sites.
  • Criticizing principals, teachers, superintendents, school trustees or school boards—personally or professionally—online.
  • Sharing confidential school board information through the board email system or a social networking site.


Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario
Electronic Communication and Social Media - Advice to Members Communication and Social Media. aspx

The Manitoba Teachers’ Society

Nova Scotia Teachers Union
Internet and Communications Technology Policy 2011 web sept 2011.pdf (page 71)

Centrale des syndicats du Québec
Booklet on use of social media (both available in English and French)

MediaSmarts and its Web Awareness Program features lesson plans, classroom activities, background articles and Canadian resources for media education. It also offers practical tips for helping parents manage media in the home.
This is a great resource site for teachers, parents and students (only available in English).
For more information on this issue, please visit the Canadian Teachers’ Federation Web site.

This material is produced by the Canadian Teachers’ Federation for its Member organizations. Reproduction of any content requires the written consent of CTF at

Special thanks to NSTU, AEFO, MTS, OTF, ETFO and MediaSmarts for their valuable input.

L’utilisation des technologies a beaucoup augmenté au cours des dernières années, mais les normes de professionalisme n’ont pas changé. Les enseignantes et enseignants sont professionnels et on s’attend à ce qu’ils servent de modèles en adoptant une cyberconduite éthique et appropriée. Les membres du personnel enseignant sont en situation de confiance par rapport aux élèves et doivent être tenus responsables de toute action de leur part qui expose les élèves à du matériel ou à des communications inappropriés. Souvenez-vous, rien n’est vraiment privé dans la communication numérique. Votre conseil ou commission scolaire a accès à tous vos messages et à tous les sites que vous consultez lorsque vous utilisez son matériel et ses réseaux.

QUAND LA VIE PRIVÉE DEVIENT PUBLIQUE

Rien de ce qui est affiché sur Internet ne disparait complètement. Tout peut entrainer des conséquences imprévues des années plus tard. Devenir « ami » avec des élèves, afficher des photos de soirées bien arrosées ou envoyer des courriels ou des messages textes trop familiers à des élèves, à des parents ou à d’autres personnes pourrait vous causer des ennuis professionnels que vous n’aviez pas prévus. Entourés d’« amis », nous sommes portés à nous sentir en sécurité. Seuls devant l’écran, nous pouvons parfois oublier que nous nous découvrons sur la place publique. La frontière entre la vie publique et la vie privée devient alors floue, ce qui peut facilement nous amener à prendre une page Web pour un journal intime.

COURRIER ÉLECTRONIQUE : À FAIRE ET À NE PAS FAIRE

  • Maintenez des normes professionnelles exemplaires lorsque vous envoyez un courriel aux élèves, aux parents, aux collègues et à l’administration scolaire.
  • N’utilisez pas votre compte de courriel personnel pour communiquer avec les élèves ou les parents.
  • Gardez une copie de tous vos courriels.
  • Ne communiquez pas votre nom d’utilisateur ni votre mot de passe à des collègues ou à des élèves.
  • Utilisez votre voix d’enseignante ou d’enseignant lorsque vous communiquez avec les élèves par courriel.
  • Ne laissez pas votre ordinateur allumé et sans surveillance lorsque les élèves sont aux alentours.
  • Utilisez une signature qui comprend votre nom, votre titre et le nom de l’école.
  • N’envoyez pas de pièces jointes inutiles avec vos courriels.

RÉSEAUTAGE SOCIAL

Les médias sociaux connaissent une croissance absolument phénoménale depuis 2004. En effet, une multitude de sites de réseautage ont vu le jour, notamment Twitter, YouTube, MySpace, LinkedIn, Flickr et Google+. Tant Facebook que Google+ permettent à leurs utilisateurs et utilisatrices de former des groupes ou des cercles d’« amis » et de publier de l’information de nature diverse sous forme de textes, d’images et de vidéos. Ils permettent aux amis d’interagir et d’« identifier » les personnes qui se trouvent dans les photos. Ces deux sites encouragent leurs utilisateurs à s’entourer du plus grand nombre d’amis et d’amies possible, car cela leur permet de tirer d’énormes recettes de la publicité ciblée.

Si les sites de réseautage social peuvent apporter d’immenses bienfaits sur le plan du perfectionnement professionnel, ils peuvent également tendre des pièges. En tant qu’éducatrices et éducateurs, nous avons une image professionnelle à protéger, et notre comportement en ligne ne fait pas exception. Avant de lancer une page Facebook ou Google+ pour votre classe ou votre école, prenez connaissance de la politique de votre conseil ou commission scolaire pour savoir ce qui peut être affiché et montré au reste du monde. Avec un peu de prévoyance, vous verrez que ces sites de réseautage social peuvent offrir toute une gamme d’avantages éducatifs sans compromettre la sécurité des élèves ou des membres de la communauté scolaire.

Adeptes du réseautage social, suivez les conseils suivants :

  • Prenez connaissance de la politique de confidentialité du site de réseautage et activez vos propres paramètres de confidentialité.
  • Ne devenez jamais « ami » avec un ou une élève sur votre compte personnel Facebook ou Google+. Vous pouvez créer un profil séparé que vous utiliserez seulement pour l’école et dans le cadre d’une relation professionnelle enseignant-élève. Vous devrez utiliser une adresse de courriel différente de celle que vous avez utilisée pour créer votre compte personnel.
  • N’acceptez pas qu’on prenne des photos de vous et qu’on les affiche sur un site s’il n’existe aucun mécanisme convenable de protection des renseignements personnels; apprenez comment supprimer les identifications dans les photos.
  • N’affichez jamais de critiques visant les collègues, les élèves ou l’administration scolaire et ne communiquez jamais d’information confidentielle les concernant.
  • N’affichez jamais de photos ou d’informations confidentielles vous concernant.
  • N’affichez jamais sur le site d’un média social ce que vous n’afficheriez pas sur un tableau d’affichage à l’extérieur de votre classe.
  • Établissez des frontières entre la vie professionnelle et la vie personnelle. Ne communiquez aucune information personnelle à des élèves (p. ex. des photos) et ne cédez pas aux demandes des élèves.
  • Communiquez en ligne avec des élèves seulement dans les médias où un enregistrement ou une transcription de chaque conversation se fait automatiquement; vous aurez ainsi des preuves si des problèmes surgissent plus tard. Veuillez prendre note que vous devez télécharger des applications spéciales tant dans Facebook que dans Firefox pour être en mesure de consigner les conversations sur Facebook.
  • Si vous décidez de converser en ligne avec des élèves, assurez-vous d’établir des « heures de bureau » de manière à pouvoir mettre fin à la conversation à l’heure qui vous convient. Vous pouvez également limiter le temps que vous accordez à chaque élève.
  • Communiquer en ligne avec des collègues peut être une excellente façon de rester en contact. Cependant, vous devriez éviter d’utiliser les conversations en ligne pour « évacuer » des frustrations découlant de votre vie professionnelle ou personnelle.

CYBERINTIMIDATION

On entend par cyberintimidation l’utilisation des technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) pour intimider, embarrasser, menacer ou harceler une autre personne. La cyberintimidation s’entend également de l’utilisation des TIC de manière à afficher une conduite ou un comportement désobligeant, diffamatoire, dégradant, illégal ou abusif.

Malgré toutes les précautions, si vous ou l’un ou l’une de vos élèves êtes la cible de cyberintimidation :

  • faites une copie de tous les messages, articles dans le Web, données et autres documents connexes suspects, y compris les adresses URL;
  • exigez que l’expéditrice ou l’expéditeur cesse de transmettre ou d’afficher les documents en question et déclarez sa conduite inacceptable et déplacée; ne discutez pas davantage avec cette personne puisque cela peut aggraver la situation;
  • informez l’administration de votre école si la situation exige une mesure immédiate ou si ce type de communication se poursuit;
  • consultez la politique ou le manuel de cyberconduite du conseil ou de la commission ou du district scolaire pour obtenir les conseils et le soutien appropriés;
  • demandez à l’administration scolaire de communiquer avec les parents de l’élève qui vous cyberintimide ou qui cyberintimide votre élève;
  • informez et faites participer le comité de santé et de sécurité au travail de votre école;
  • communiquez avec votre organisation de l’enseignement si les mesures prises pour régler la situation sont inefficaces ou si vous avez besoin de plus de soutien ou de conseils.

Au moins deux formes de cyberintimidation sont considérées comme étant des actes criminels — une communication répétée avec une personne si cette communication porte la personne à craindre pour sa santé et sa sécurité; la publication d’un « libellé diffamatoire » qui vise à insulter une personne ou probablement à ternir sa réputation en l’exposant à la haine, au mépris ou au ridicule. La propagation de la haine ou de la discrimination fondée sur la race, l’appartenance ethnique ou nationale, la couleur, la religion, l’âge, le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle, l’état matrimonial, la situation familiale ou l’incapacité peut être une violation de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne ou de la législation provinciale ou territoriale en matière de droits de la personne.

CONNAISSEZ VOS DROITS ET RESPONSABILITÉS

Activités pouvant donner lieu à des mesures disciplinaires à l’endroit d’une enseignante ou d’un enseignant :

  • la visite de sites Web inappropriés (p. ex. du contenu adulte, raciste ou pornographique);
  • l’expédition ou la transmission de blagues et de photos offensantes par courriel;
  • le jeu en ligne au moyen du matériel du conseil ou de la commission scolaire;
  • le téléchargement de documents audios, vidéos ou textuels qui contrevient à la législation sur le droit d’auteur;
  • l’utilisation du matériel de l’employeur pour mener des activités liées à un second emploi;
  • l’envoi constant de messages textes, de messages instantanés ou de courriels pendant les heures de classe;
  • la navigation sur des sites Web non liés au programme d’études;
  • l’affichage de photos de vous, en particulier si elles sont suggestives ou inappropriées;
  • l’affichage de commentaires sur les élèves, les parents, les collègues ou l’administration scolaire;
  • l’échange de courriels personnels avec des élèves;
  • la participation à des conversations inappropriées sur des collègues par courrier électronique ou sur des sites de réseautage social;
  • la formulation de critiques de nature personnelle ou professionnelle, en ligne, à l’égard de membres de la direction ou du personnel de l’école, du surintendant ou de la surintendante, de conseillers ou conseillères scolaires ou de membres du conseil ou de la commission scolaire;
  • la communication d’information confidentielle du conseil ou de la commission scolaire au moyen du système de courrier électronique du conseil ou de la commission scolaire ou d’un site de réseautage social.

AUTRES CONSEILS UTILES POUR LES ENSEIGNANTES ET ENSEIGNANTS

Fédération des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’élémentaire de l’Ontario
« Electronic Communication and Social Media - Advice to Members »
www.etfo.ca/AdviceForMembers/PRSMattersBulletins/Pages/Electronic Communication and Social Media. aspx (disponible uniquement en anglais)

The Manitoba Teachers’ Society
www.mbteach.org/library/mtslibrary.html (disponible uniquement en anglais)

Nova Scotia Teachers Union
Politique sur l’utilisation d’Internet et des technologies de communication
www.nstu.ca/images/pklot/Guidebook 2011 web sept 2011.pdf (page 71) (disponible uniquement en anglais)

Centrale des syndicats du Québec
Guide sur l’utilisation des médias sociaux (en français et en anglais)
www.csq.qc.net/fileadmin/user_upload/csq/documents/documentation/enjeux_sociaux/medias_sociaux/media_sociaux.pdf

RESSOURCES PÉDAGOGIQUES

habilomedias.ca
Le programme La Toile et les jeunes d'HabiloMédias comprend des plans de leçon, des activités à faire en salle de classe, des articles de fond et des ressources canadiennes pour l’éducation médiatique. Il offre aussi des conseils pratiques pour aider les parents à gérer les médias à la maison.

www.cyberbullying.ca
Un excellent site de ressources à l’intention du personnel enseignant, des parents et des élèves (disponible uniquement en anglais).

www.ctf-fce.ca
Pour de plus amples renseignements sur cette question, veuillez visiter le site Web de la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants.

Le présent document est publié par la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants à l’intention de ses organisations Membres. La reproduction de tout contenu exige le consentement écrit de la FCE à info@ctf-fce.ca.

Nous remercions particulièrement le NSTU, l’AEFO, la MTS, la FEO, la FEEO et HabiloMédias de leur précieuse collaboration.