Board of Directors Meetings

A key function of CTF is bringing together the political leaders of Member organizations – i.e. teacher organizations from coast to coast to coast. Three times each year provincial and territorial Presidents and General Secretaries who make up the CTF Board to liaise while discussing the key educational and labour issues of the day. Meetings provide opportunity for networking, sharing and most importantly planning action based on common values and goals.

Annual General Meeting (AGM)

The Annual General Meeting is opportunity for larger delegations from Member organizations to debate policy, provide input on activities, set the budget and elect officers. Each annual meeting provides issues discussion sessions and guest presentations. Award winners for the Special Recognition Award, the Public Education Advocacy Award and the Outstanding Aboriginal Educator Award are announced and celebrated. The meeting provides a broader opportunity to build cross-country liaisons. Federation AGMs rotate between Ottawa and a host Member organization.

Canadian Forum on Public Education

Each year immediately prior to the Annual General Meeting the annual Canadian Forum on Public Education is an opportunity for open discussion on an issue of importance to public education. CTF has frequent major discussions with key national and international organizations that influence our education system from a wide range of perspectives, opinions and beliefs. We are in a unique position to bring people together to focus on forces for change in education. The annual Forum provides opportunity to share, discuss and expand understanding on critical matters in education. Participants from government, university, public and private education, school boards and teacher associations expect to challenge and to be challenged in an atmosphere of respectful, open dialogue. This is your opportunity to hear and be heard.

Committees

CTF strikes four Advisory Committees to which teachers are named by the CTF Board of Directors. Member organizations nominate teachers and the final selection is made at a Board of Directors meeting with regard to demographic, gender and language criteria. Committees include:

  • Advisory Committee on Aboriginal Education reviews the efforts of CTF in reaching out to teachers and students in Aboriginal schools throughout Canada, fostering partnerships with First Nations, Métis and Inuit groups, and advising on how to make non-aboriginal schools more accepting. The Outstanding Aboriginal Educator was a suggestion of this committee.
  • Advisory Committee on Diversity and Human Rights reviews the Federation program on social justice, human rights, and equality gaps. The committee makes recommendations for ways to enhance the existing broad CTF program and to link to Member organizations. The committee has in recent years reviewed publications, recommended partnerships and created a diversity report card.
  • Advisory Committee on French as a First Language holds a slightly different role that the other committees as they advise on a program of project-based, externally funded research and production of materials targeted specifically at helping francophone families in schools throughout Canada. The Committee is assisted in its work by the Agents de Liaison appointed from each Member organization to provide a national support base that reaches into every corner of the country. The Committee organizes an annual symposium, often in liaison with a Member organization and is responsible for several very popular CTF publications.
  • Advisory Committee on the Status of Women reviews the societal status of women and girls to advise CTF on ways to increase its impact in meeting the identified needs created by gender inequity. The committee has in recent years run successful annual symposiums, recommended policy changes and proposed resolutions for national and international consideration.
  • Advisory Committee on the Teaching Profession explores “our” meaning of professionalism for teachers, advises the Executive Committee on important issues and concerns that impact the identify and reputation of public education teachers, on ways to enhance professionalism through the work of CTF and on relevant specific questions of practice and policy, documents, dialogue and/or events.

International Liaison

Canada is a world leader in education. Still, many of the initiatives that have huge impact on Canadian classrooms are global initiatives (e.g. high stakes testing) that may be driven by economic forces or ideologies rather than education interests. CTF monitors international activities and exerts influence primarily through its work with the global teacher organization, Education International. Avenues of political involvement include:

  • Education International (EI): 30 million teachers from five regions sharing common values and voice; CTF runs a candidate for the Executive Board and cooperates with EI on development and cooperation work which helps millions of teachers and students, urgent action appeals when crises arise (which have saved lives) and emergency aid appeals when major natural disasters occur. The 2015 EI World Congress will be held in Ottawa.
  • Commonwealth Teachers’ Group (CTG): teacher organizations from all Commonwealth Countries participate actively at the Commonwealth Conference of Ministers of Education to influence 50 – 55 Ministers and the Secretariat. CTG is a subgroup of EI. CTF has an elected official on the CTG Coordinating Committee.
  • Le Comité syndical francophone de l’éducation et de la formation (CSFEF): the Francophone Trade Union Committee for Education and Training brings together more than 50 teacher organizations from 37 francophone countries who meet regularly to press for improved quality in developing nations, provide development and cooperation assistance and work to improve working conditions and benefits for teachers. CSFEF is a subgroup of EI. AEFO represents CTF on the organizing committee.
  • EI Subcommittee on relations with OECD: A subcommittee reporting to the Education International Executive Board with advice on relations with OECD including input to the annual meetings with OECD. The 2014 EI/OECD meeting will be held in Montreal. CTF a seat on the subcommittee.
  • North American/Caribbean Region (NA/C): CTF is part of the North American/Caribbean Region within Education International. The region currently elects four representatives to the EI Executive Board. CTF does much ongoing work within the region. In the year prior to a World Congress a Regional Meeting is held to plan and prepare to meet regional needs. CTF participates in the planning and several Member organizations join the delegation.
  • United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (UNCSW): Each year the United Nations hosts a meeting of this functional UN Commission which drafts recommendations for the UN on matters affecting women and girls. In addition to being part of the EI delegation, CTF assists the Canadian trade union movement in its input and has in recent years focused on assistance with communications. Several CTF Member organizations send delegates.
  • International Summit on the Teaching Profession (ISTP): Now in its fourth year the ISTP is a joint OECD and EI initiative that brings together government and teacher union/organization delegates from top performing countries in education (based on PISA Test results) as equals in open discussion of education issues. The 2014 meeting is in New Zealand. Canada is a strong contender to host the 2015 meeting. CTF has both submitted agenda items and attended all of the meetings in conjunction with the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada.

Réunions du Conseil d’administration

Une des principales fonctions de la FCE est de rassembler les dirigeants et dirigeantes politiques des organisations de l’enseignement de partout au Canada. Les responsables des organisations provinciales et territoriales ont ainsi l’occasion de débattre ensemble des grands dossiers du jour dans le monde de l’éducation et des relations du travail, de nouer des relations, d’échanger de l’information et, surtout, de planifier leur action à partir de valeurs et d’objectifs communs.

Assemblée générale annuelle (AGA)

À l’Assemblée générale annuelle (AGA), des délégations élargies des organisations Membres de la FCE débattent des principes directeurs à adopter, commentent les activités, établissent le budget et élisent les membres de la haute direction de la FCE. Chaque assemblée donne lieu à des séances de discussion sur les enjeux et à des exposés par des spécialistes. On y annonce et célèbre les lauréats et lauréates des prix de la FCE et on en profite pour nouer des relations dans tout le pays. L’AGA se déroule une année sur deux à Ottawa et l’autre année, elle a lieu dans la ville de l’organisation Membre qui l’accueille. En 2014, l’AGA se tiendra à Winnipeg, en 2015, à Ottawa et en 2016, à Montréal.

Forum de la présidente

Avant l’AGA, le Forum de la présidente de la FCE offre une tribune où discuter librement d’une question importante pour l’éducation publique. Par le passé, les participantes et participants y ont exploré les thèmes du financement de l’éducation, de la qualité en éducation et, en 2013, de l’amélioration de l’éducation des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits du Canada. En 2014, le Forum sera consacré à la justice sociale dans l’éducation publique à l’intérieur des régimes démocratiques.

Comités

La FCE a quatre comités consultatifs dont les membres, des enseignants et enseignantes, sont nommés par le Conseil d’administration. Les organisations Membres commencent par désigner des candidates et candidats et le Conseil d’administration fait la sélection finale en veillant à assurer une représentation équilibrée des hommes et des femmes, des régions géographiques et des langues officielles.

  • Le Comité consultatif de la diversité et des droits de la personne examine les programmes de la FCE qui traitent de la justice sociale, des droits de la personne et des inégalités afin de recommander des améliorations et de faire le lien dans ces dossiers entre la FCE et les organisations Membres. Ces dernières années, le Comité a revu des publications, suggéré des partenariats et créé un bulletin de la diversité.
  • Le Comité consultatif de la condition féminine examine la condition des femmes et des filles pour conseiller la FCE sur les moyens d’accroitre l’incidence de son action et de mieux combler les besoins issus de l’inégalité entre les sexes. Ces dernières années, le Comité a organisé des symposiums, proposé des changements aux principes directeurs et formulé des résolutions pour les soumettre aux instances nationales et internationales compétentes.
  • Le Comité consultatif de l’éducation autochtone examine les efforts de la FCE pour intervenir auprès des enseignantes et enseignants des écoles autochtones du Canada, encourager les partenariats avec les groupes des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits, et améliorer la compréhension qu’ont les écoles non autochtones de ces populations. Le Comité fait les recommandations relatives au Prix du mérite exceptionnel en éducation autochtone.
  • Le Comité consultatif du français langue première donne des conseils sur un programme de recherche financé à l’externe et fondé sur des projets de même que sur la production de publications et de matériel destinés aux familles d’élèves francophones de tout le Canada. Le Comité reçoit l’aide d’agentes et agents de liaison nommés par les différentes organisations Membres, lesquels forment une équipe nationale de soutien. Le Comité organise un symposium annuel, souvent en collaboration avec une organisation Membre.

Relations à l’étranger

Le Canada est un chef de file mondial en matière d’éducation. Parmi les initiatives qui ont d’importantes répercussions sur les écoles du Canada, un grand nombre sont des projets mondiaux (p. ex. les tests à grands enjeux) adoptés sous la pression de forces ou d’idéologies économiques qui ne tiennent pas compte des intérêts de l’éducation. La FCE peut exercer une influence sur les activités internationales en travaillant en particulier avec l’Internationale de l’Éducation. Elle intervient entre autres auprès des organisations ci-dessous :

  • Internationale de l’Éducation (IE) : Cette organisation représente 30 millions d’enseignantes et enseignants de cinq régions du monde qui partagent des valeurs communes et parlent d’une même voix. La FCE propose un candidat ou une candidate pour former le Bureau de l’exécutif de l’IE et collabore avec l’IE dans le dossier du développement et de la coopération. Elle répond aussi à ses appels d’action urgente en période de crise et à ses appels à l’aide en cas de catastrophe naturelle majeure. Le Congrès mondial de l’IE de 2015 aura lieu à Ottawa.
  • Groupe d’enseignants et d’enseignantes du Commonwealth (GEC) : Les organisations d’enseignants et enseignantes des pays du Commonwealth participent activement à la Conférence des ministres de l’Éducation du Commonwealth où elles mènent leur action auprès d’une cinquantaine de ministres et du Secrétariat. La FCE y participe dans le cadre d’un sous-groupe de l’IE. Elle a un porte-parole élu au Comité coordonnateur du GEC.
  • Comité syndical francophone de l’éducation et de la formation (CSFEF) : Le Comité réunit plus de 50 organisations de l’enseignement de 37 pays francophones pour qu’ensemble, elles contribuent à améliorer la qualité de l’éducation dans les pays en développement, fournissent une aide au développement et à la coopération, et appuient l’amélioration des conditions de travail et des avantages des enseignantes et enseignants. L’Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO) représente la FCE auprès du comité organisateur de ce Comité de l’IE.
  • Sous-comité consultatif de l’IE sur les relations avec l’OCDE : Ce sous-comité conseille le Bureau exécutif de l’IE sur les relations avec l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) et contribue notamment aux réunions annuelles avec cette organisation. La réunion IE-OCDE de 2014 aura lieu à Montréal. La FCE a un siège au Sous-comité.
  • Région de l’Amérique du Nord et des Antilles de l’IE : Ce groupe régional élit actuellement quatre représentants et représentantes au Bureau exécutif de l’IE. La FCE travaille avec la Région dans des projets de développement et de coopération. Pendant l’année qui précède un congrès mondial, une réunion régionale a lieu pour établir la planification et préparer les dossiers afin de répondre aux besoins de la Région. La FCE participe à la planification et plusieurs de ses organisations Membres se joignent à la délégation.
  • Commission de la condition de la femme des Nations Unies (CCFNU) : Cette commission fonctionnelle des Nations Unies se réunit une fois par année pour formuler des recommandations à soumettre à l’assemblée des Nations Unies sur les dossiers qui intéressent les femmes et les filles. La FCE fait partie de la délégation de l’IE, aide le mouvement syndical à préparer sa représentation et s’occupe principalement des communications. Plusieurs organisations Membres de la FCE envoient des porte-paroles à cette réunion.
  • Sommet international sur la profession enseignante : Ce sommet est une initiative conjointe de l’IE et de l’OCDE qui réunit les porte-paroles des gouvernements et des organisations syndicales de l’enseignement des pays en tête des classements internationaux en matière d’éducation (d’après les résultats du test du PISA). Au Sommet ces personnes peuvent discuter librement et à égalité des questions d’éducation. En 2014, le Sommet se réunira en Nouvelle-Zélande. Le Canada a posé sa candidature pour accueillir le sommet de 2015 et fait partie des favoris. La FCE propose des questions à inclure au programme du Sommet et y assiste aux côtés du Conseil des ministres de l’Éducation du Canada.