Employment Contracts

In most provinces/territories, a newly-hired teacher is required to sign a written contract.  However, in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and the Yukon, a formal letter of acceptance constitutes the contract. The terms of the contract continue indefinitely until it is terminated by either the teacher or the board. 

In order to terminate a contract, appropriate written notice must be given.  A teacher may terminate a contract effective at the end of June (all provinces), or the end of December (Manitoba, Ontario).  In British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Newfoundland and the Yukon, the termination may take place at any time provided that thirty days notice is given (ninety days in Newfoundland). 

The school board may also terminate a contract under the same notice restrictions as outlined above and must also give reasons for the termination where the teacher is no longer under a probationary term. In such cases, the teacher may appeal the dismissal to an impartial board of reference or arbitration tribunal, and in some provinces/territories a teacher on probation may also have the right to appeal. 

Salaries

In Canada, the basic salary scale and benefit package offered to a newly-hired teacher is established through negotiations between the teachers’ association and representatives of the provincial/territorial government. Generally, teacher salary schedules are determined by a combination of years of post-secondary education and years of teaching experience.  Additional allowances are paid to teachers whose position will include additional administrative responsibilities.

Benefits

Benefit packages can vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction but will include a combination of the following:

  • Dental insurance
  • Life insurance
  • Maternity leave
  • Compassionate leave
  • Cumulative sick leave
  • Sabbatical and study leave
  • Supplementary medical insurance
  • Long-term disability insurance
  • Retirement gratuities.

Social Security Plans

Teachers are required to contribute to the social security programs of the federal government, such as employment insurance, which provide benefits for those unemployed by maternity or illness, or due to unavailability of suitable work. In addition, the Canada/Quebec Pension Plan provides a basic minimum retirement allowance and certain disability and survivors’ benefits. Teachers also contribute to provincial/territorial hospital and medical insurance plans, the costs of which are shared by the federal and provincial governments. While coverage varies across the country, such plans cover the basic expenses of hospital accommodation and physicians’ services.

Retirement Plans

Each province/territory operates a compulsory retirement plan whereby teachers receive a pension in retirement. Contributions vary across the country.

A multi-lateral reciprocal agreement between some provinces and territories permits teachers to transfer pension credits from one jurisdiction to another. However since these reciprocal arrangements may vary, teachers should check directly with the respective provincial/territorial pension administrator for details.

Contrats de travail

L’enseignante ou l’enseignant nouvellement engagé doit signer un contrat dans la plupart des provinces et territoires, mais une lettre d’acceptation officielle constitue le contrat en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Yukon. Le contrat est prolongé indéfiniment jusqu’à ce que l’enseignante ou l’enseignant ou encore la commission ou le conseil scolaire y mette fin.

L’une ou l’autre partie qui désire mettre fin au contrat doit donner un avis écrit. Une enseignante ou un enseignant peut résilier son contrat à la fin juin (dans toutes les provinces) ou à la fin décembre (au Manitoba et en Ontario). Il peut mettre fin à son contrat à tout moment en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, en Saskatchewan, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et au Yukon, à condition de donner un avis de 30 jours (90 jours à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador).

La commission ou le conseil peut également résilier un contrat sous réserve des mêmes exigences en matière d’avis exposées ci-dessus et est tenu de justifier la résiliation du contrat si l’enseignante ou l’enseignant n’est plus en période probatoire. Dans de tels cas, la personne visée peut faire appel devant une commission ou un tribunal d'arbitrage impartial et, dans quelques provinces ou territoires, la personne en stage probatoire jouit également du droit d'appel.

Salaires

Au Canada, les salaires de base et les avantages sociaux offerts à une enseignante ou un enseignant nouvellement engagé sont établis par voie de négociation entre l'association de la profession enseignante et des personnes représentant le gouvernement provincial/territorial. La grille salariale du personnel enseignant est généralement fixée d'après le nombre d'années d'études postsecondaires et d'expérience de l’enseignement. Les personnes qui assument des responsabilités administratives touchent une indemnité supplémentaire.

Selon l'administration scolaire, le salaire de départ annuel peut osciller entre 36 305 $ et 58 980 $, tandis que le salaire maximal annuel peut varier de 53 545 $ à 83 158 $. Les enseignantes et enseignants qui possèdent une formation spécialisée ou ont effectué des études supérieures peuvent s’attendre à gagner plus que le maximum.

Avantages sociaux

Le régime d’avantages peut varier d’une administration à l’autre, mais il comprend une combinaison des avantages suivants :

  • assurance-soins dentaires
  • assurance-vie
  • congés de maternité
  • congés pour raisons familiales
  • congés cumulatifs de maladie
  • congés sabbatiques et congés d'études
  • assurance maladie complémentaire
  • assurance-invalidité de longue durée
  • gratification de retraite.

Régimes de sécurité sociale

Les membres de la population enseignante doivent participer aux programmes de sécurité sociale du gouvernement fédéral, tels que le Régime d'assurance-emploi, qui versent des prestations aux personnes qui ne travaillent pas pour des raisons de maternité ou de maladie, ou parce qu'elles ne trouvent pas un emploi convenable. En outre, le Régime de pensions du Canada / Régime de rentes du Québec verse des prestations de retraite minimales ainsi que certaines prestations d'invalidité et prestations au survivant. Le corps enseignant participe également aux régimes provinciaux et territoriaux d'assurance-maladie et d'assurance-hospitalisation, dont les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux partagent le cout. Même si la protection varie d'une région à l'autre du pays, ces régimes couvrent les frais d'hospitalisation de base et les honoraires des médecins.

Régimes de retraite

Chaque province et chaque territoire administre un régime de retraite obligatoire en vertu duquel les enseignantes et enseignants touchent une rente, dont le montant est calculé d’après le nombre d’années de service et le salaire moyen d’une période de cinq ans. Les cotisations varient de 7 p. 100 à 10 p. 100 du salaire annuel à l'échelle du pays.

Grâce à un accord multilatéral de transfert conclu entre la plupart des provinces et des territoires, le personnel enseignant peut transférer ses droits à pension d'une administration à une autre. Cependant, comme les dispositions peuvent varier, les membres de la profession enseignante devraient se renseigner directement auprès du ou de la gestionnaire du régime de retraite de la province ou du territoire en question.