People who come to Canada are selected according to universal standards designed to determine their suitability to adjust to life in Canada and to settle successfully. Applicants are assessed against a detailed point system based on education, prospects for employment, a pre-arranged job, preferred destination in Canada, age, knowledge of English and/or French, personal suitability, and the presence of relatives already in Canada.

Employment authorizations must be obtained from the Canadian government office abroad, before applicants enter Canada - they are not allowed to enter Canada to look for a position or to accept a position prior to obtaining an employment authorization. The initial application should be made to the nearest Canadian immigration office in the applicant's country. Where there is no Canadian immigration office located in a particular country, advice on immigration procedures may be obtained from the nearest Canadian consular office.

Teachers coming to Canada and searching for employment in public schools must meet all the same basic requirements expected from qualified teachers moving within Canada. Teacher qualifications must be submitted to the teacher certification body in the province/territory of application. There are also additional requirements that specifically pertain to immigrants including evidence of landed immigrant status where the applicant is not a Canadian citizen. Another important requirement is proficiency in one of Canada's official languages - English or French.

Les personnes qui viennent au Canada sont sélectionnées d'après des critères universels permettant de déterminer leur capacité de s’adapter à la vie au Canada et de s’établir avec succès. Les candidates et candidats à l’immigration sont évalués d’après un système de points complexe fondé sur les études, les possibilités d'emploi, l'obtention d'un poste à l'avance, la destination souhaitée au Canada, l'âge, la connaissance du français ou de l'anglais, la personnalité et la présence de parents au Canada.

Avant d'entrer au Canada, ces personnes doivent obtenir un permis de travail auprès du bureau du gouvernement canadien à l’étranger. Elles n’ont pas le droit d’entrer au Canada pour y chercher ou accepter un poste avant d’obtenir ce permis. La personne intéressée doit d’abord présenter sa demande au bureau d'immigration canadien le plus proche dans son pays. S'il n'en existe pas, elle peut se renseigner auprès du service consulaire canadien le plus proche sur la marche à suivre pour immigrer au Canada.

Les enseignantes et enseignants immigrant au Canada qui cherchent du travail dans le système public doivent satisfaire aux mêmes exigences de base que le personnel enseignant qualifié qui s’installe dans une autre administration au Canada. Ils doivent soumettre leurs titres de compétence à l'organisme de certification en enseignement de la province ou du territoire en question. Ils doivent également respecter des conditions additionnelles en matière d'immigration, dont une preuve du statut d’immigrant admis s’ils n’ont pas la citoyenneté canadienne. Une autre condition importante est la maitrise de l’une des deux langues officielles, soit l'anglais ou le français.