This year, “Women and Union Leadership” is the theme of the Women’s Symposium hosted by the Prince Edward Island Teachers’ Federation in Charlottetown, May 6-9. The Symposium will examine challenges and successes faced by women in leadership roles within teacher organizations. Women from across the country will have the opportunity to exchange ideas and strategies in terms of election campaigns, work/life balance, collective bargaining and mentorship initiatives. All this and more, as participants get to see beautiful Charlottetown in the spring.

Confirmed Presenters:

  • Lori Adelman, Director, Youth Engagement, Women Deliver
  • Patsy Beattie-Huggan, President, The Quaich and creator of the “Circle of Health”
  • Lily Eskelsen García, President, National Education Association
  • Michelle Harris-Genge, Director, Interministerial Women's Secretariat, PEI
  • Jillian Kilfoil, Executive Director, Women’s Network PEI
  • Debbie Morran, Assistant Director, British Columbia Teachers’ Federation
  • The Honourable Antoinette Perry, Lieutenant Governor, Prince Edward Island
  • Lori St. Onge, Director of Aboriginal Justice, Mi'kmaq Confederacy of Prince Edward Island
  • Susan Swackhammer, former First Vice President, Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario
  • Selina Pellerin, Economic Welfare and Member Services, PEI Teachers’ Federation
  • Dawn Wilson, Executive Director, Prince Edward Island Coalition for Women in Government
  • Dianne Woloschuk, Chair, Education International’s Status of Women Committee

Program at a glance

Sunday, May 6

7:30 p.m.: Registration at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Charlottetown

8 p.m.: Welcome remarks and Island social

Monday, May 7

8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.: Presentations and workshops (includes lunch)

Free time to explore the local area and restaurants

Tuesday, May 8

8:30 a.m.- 2 p.m.: Presentations and workshops (lunch)

3 p.m. - 6 p.m.: Island tour

6 p.m.: Traditional lobster dinner and rousing kitchen party! (Guests are welcome for an additional fee)

Wednesday, May 9

9 a.m. – noon: Presentations and farewells