Teachers who are employed in the public school system in Canada are eligible for membership in the teachers’ organization for the particular province/territory. Membership in the provincial teachers' organization is compulsory in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario and New Brunswick, voluntary in the territories, and automatic in all remaining provinces (Manitoba, Quebec, P.E.I., Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Nunavut and the Yukon) except British Columbia. In British Columbia and Ontario, teachers must belong to the College of Teachers, which has jurisdiction over certification, discipline and competence. Membership in the British Columbia Teachers' Federation is available through membership in a local teachers' association.