CTF President-designate from Nova Scotia elected at annual meeting

July 14, 2008

(CTF News Service — Ottawa) On the last day of the 88th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF) in Moncton, New Brunswick, delegates elected a new President-designate and executive committee, paving the path of the Federation’s work for the coming year.

Mary-Lou Donnelly, President of the Nova Scotia Teachers Union (NSTU) until July 31, 2008, was elected President-designate. She will take office in July 2009, succeeding current President Emily Noble. The newly elected CTF Executive Committee includes: CTF President Emily Noble; CTF President-designate Mary-Lou Donnelly (NSTU); Calvin Fraser, CTF Secretary General, along with the following CTF Vice-Presidents (in alphabetical order) Frank Bruseker (The Alberta Teachers’ Association), Jimmy Jacquard (Nunavut Teachers’ Association), Sean Noah (Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers’ Association) and Paul Taillefer (Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens).

The CTF AGM is the highest legislative body of the national federation that is held every year to report on activities for the past year and determine priorities and activities for future years. The AGM engages the delegates of Member organizations in debate and discussion on key issues and resolutions that have an impact on public education, students and teachers nationally. The meeting also sets the Federation’s priorities, budget and Member’s fee, and elects the President and Executive for the organization.

CTF speaks for 220,000 teachers in Canada as their national voice on education and related social issues. CTF membership includes Member organizations in every province and territory in Canada as well as an Affiliate Member in Ontario. CTF is also a member of the international body of teachers, Education International.


Emily Noble, CTF President, 613-688-4300 or 613-899-4209 (cell)

Media Contacts:
Francine Filion, Director of Communications, CTF, 613-688-4314 or 613-899-4247 (cell)

Angela Murray, Public Relations and Communications Officer, NSTU, 902-479-4708 or
902-497-0194 (cell)