CTF President-designate Paul Taillefer elected at annual meeting of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation

July 16, 2010

Edmonton… On the last day of the 90th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF), delegates elected a new President-designate and Executive Committee for 2010-2011.  The President-elect will assume the presidency in July 2011, at the end of the term of CTF President Mary-Lou Donnelly which is not renewable according to the organization’s constitution.

Paul Taillefer (AEFO) was elected President-designate.  The newly elected CTF Executive Committee includes: CTF President Mary-Lou Donnelly; CTF President-designate Paul Taillefer; Calvin Fraser, CTF Secretary General, along with the following CTF Vice-Presidents:

Alexis Allen, NSTU
Chris Karuhanga, OECTA
Brent Shaw, NBTA
Dianne Woloschuk, STF

The CTF AGM is the highest legislative body of the national Federation that is held every year to report on activities for the past year and determine priorities and activities for future years. The AGM engages the delegates of Member organizations in debate and discussion on key issues and resolutions that have an impact on public education, students and teachers nationally.  The meeting also sets the Federation’s priorities, budget and Member’s fee, and elects the President and Executive for the organization.

The Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF) speaks for nearly 200,000 teachers in Canada as their national voice on education and related social issues. CTF is also a member of the international body of teachers, Education International


Comments: Mary-Lou Donnelly, CTF President

Media Contact: Francine Filion, Director of Communications, CTF, 613-899-4247 (cell)