2012 Outstanding Aboriginal Educator Award presented to Saskatchewan teacher

July 12, 2012

OTTAWA… An educator based in Regina, Saskatchewan is this year’s recipient of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF) Outstanding Aboriginal Educator Award. Nominated by the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation (STF), Maureen Johns has been described as a passionate champion for the authentic inclusion of First Nations and Métis voices in education.

“We are delighted to honour Maureen who, throughout her career, has exemplied what it means to be an exceptional teacher and leader,” says CTF President Paul Taillefer at the Federation’s Annual General Meeting currently underway in Halifax. “Maureen epitomizes the essence of this award with her achievements throughout her career as a classroom teacher, school principal and as a senior level administrator.”

Taillefer also notes that Johns has a vast array of experience having worked with the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations in providing provincial leadership for First Nations education development. She has also been the provincial representative for the Assembly of First Nations’ national education system development. In Saskatchewan, Johns has worked in various capacities, including her position as the Executive Director of the Ministry branch responsible for First Nations and Métis Education.

An alliance of 15 Member organizations and one Affiliate Member representing nearly 200,000 teachers across the country, the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF) is a member of the international body of teachers, Education International (EI).

Follow CTF on Twitter @CTFPresident, @CanTeachersFed, @EnseigneCanada



Paul Taillefer, CTF President


Francine Filion, Director of Communications, 613-899-4247 (cell)