Dianne Woloschuk of Saskatchewan to assume presidency of Canadian Teachers’ Federation in 2013

July 17, 2012

Halifax… On the last day of the 92nd Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF), delegates elected Dianne Woloschuk, a past president of the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation, who will assume the presidency a year from now.

Dianne Woloschuk has over 30 years of teaching experience in Saskatchewan’s rural and urban school systems. The fluently bilingual president-designate obtained her Master’s Degree in Education from the University of Saskatchewan in 2004. Dianne has served five years on the CTF Board of Directors and three as Vice-President on the federation’s Executive Committee.

Here’s the CTF Executive Committee for 2012-2013:

  • Paul Taillefer, President
  • Dianne Woloschuk, President-designate
  • Lily B. Cole, Vice-President (Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers’ Association)
  • Mark Ramsankar, Vice-President (The Alberta Teachers’ Association)
  • James Ryan, Vice-President (The Ontario English Catholic Teachers’ Association)
  • Brent Shaw, Vice-President (New Brunswick Teachers’ Association)
  • Calvin Fraser, Secretary General

An alliance of 15 Member organizations and one Affiliate Member representing nearly 200,000 teachers across the country, the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF) is a member of the international body of teachers, Education International (EI).

Follow CTF on Twitter @CTFPresident, @CanTeachersFed, @EnseigneCanada.



Paul Taillefer, CTF President, 613-688-4300 or 613-899-4209 (cell)

Media Contact:

Francine Filion, CTF Director of Communications, 613-688-4314 or 613-899-4247 (cell)