Saskatoon's Dianne Woloschuk assumes Canadian Teachers' Federation presidency

July 12, 2013

Ottawa… Dianne Woloschuk is the new president of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF) following this afternoon’s changeover at the Federation’s Annual General Meeting in Ottawa. Woloschuk was elected President-Designate in 2012, and replaces Paul Taillefer, who served as President from 2011 to 2013.

A lot has changed in the past few years in terms of teachers’ autonomy. We live in challenging times,” says Woloschuk. “Teachers have a strong and compelling voice and we need to make sure that it’s heard nationally.

A member of the CTF Board of Directors since 2007, Woloschuk just finished her fourth year on the Federation’s Executive Committee. She chaired the Federation’s Advisory Committee on Aboriginal education for two years and has both chaired and served on the CTF’s Finance Committee.

Woloschuk also served as President of the Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation (STF) from 2007 to 2010, with a strong focus on professionalism, governance and accountability, and served for several years on the executive of the Saskatoon Teachers’ Association.

Born in Moose Jaw, SK, and raised in St. Victor, Woloschuk has 35 years of teaching experience in Saskatchewan’s rural and urban school systems. She obtained her Master’s Degree in Education from the University of Saskatchewan in 2004.

AGM delegates also elected the CTF Executive Committee:

  • Katherine Mackwood, Yukon Teachers’ Association
  • Mark Ramsankar, The Alberta Teachers’ Association
  • Heather Smith, New Brunswick Teachers’ Association
  • Maureen Weinberger, Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario

The Canadian Teachers’ Federation is an alliance of nearly 200,000 elementary and secondary educators from 16 organizations, 15 Members and one Affiliate Member, across Canada. Follow the CTF on Twitter: @CanTeachersFed and @EnseigneCanada.



CTF President Dianne Woloschuk


Francine Filion, Director of Communications, 613-688-4314 (office) or 613-899-4247 (cell)