Teachers Involved in Leading Change in Education

October 22, 2013

Calgary... Canada’s teachers showed ongoing commitment to transformational change of what is already one of the best education systems in the world by their significant presence in the Canadian Education Association (CEA) workshop on barriers to change, Oct. 21-22, 2013, in Calgary.

Dianne Woloschuk, President of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF), complimented the group from seven provincial and territorial teacher organizations for their commitment to keeping Canadian students in the forefront and their representation of “commitment to excellence in teaching by their members.” Three key issues for teachers are:

  1. Education remains a public good and a basic human right;
  2. Equity – equal access for all to succeed - must be the foundational principle for 21st century learning. Excellence is achieved through equity;
  3. Teachers and their organizations must be involved in the conversation about the future of learning. Teachers continue to be relentless advocates for their students.

Attending the CEA workshop:

  • Dianne Woloschuk, President, Canadian Teachers’ Federation;
  • Paul Olson, President, The Manitoba Teachers’ Society (MTS);
  • Shelley Morse, President, Nova Scotia Teachers Union (NSTU);
  • Carol Jolin, President, Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO);
  • Mark Ramsankar, President, The Alberta Teachers’ Association (ATA);
  • James Ryan, President, Ontario English Catholic Teachers’ Association (OECTA);
  • Gayla Meredith, President, Northwest Territories Teachers’ Association (NWTTA).

The Canadian Teachers' Federation is an alliance of nearly 200,000 elementary and secondary educators from 17 organizations (15 Members, one Affiliate Member and one Associate Member), from coast to coast. Follow the CTF on Twitter: @CanTeachersFed and @EnseigneCanada.



Dianne Woloschuk, CTF President


Francine Filion, Director of Communications, 613-688-4314, [email protected]