Heather Smith elected as new President-Designate of Canadian Teachers’ Federation

July 11, 2014

WINNIPEG – Delegates attending the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF) Annual General Meeting have elected Heather Smith, from the New Brunswick Teachers’ Association (NBTA), as the new President-Designate who will take over for current CTF President Dianne Woloschuk in July 2015.

Smith, who was elected for a two-year term at CTF’s 94th Annual General Meeting, is a principal and teacher at Janeville Elementary School, located outside of Bathurst, New Brunswick.

The past president of the NBTA and vice-president of CTF, Smith received national recognition in 2011 when she was named one of Canada’s Outstanding Principals by the Learning Partnership. Smith holds a bachelor of Child Study degree in Elementary and Special Education and a Master of Education in Literacy from Mount Saint Vincent University. Having taught for 32 years, Smith brings a dedication towards providing comprehensive services for students with high needs to the position and is an experienced negotiator.

Delegates elected Dianne Woloschuk to be CTF’s candidate to run as member on the Education International (EI) Executive Board at the 2015 Congress.

On other fronts, Cassandra Hallett DaSilva was appointed the new Secretary General for CTF beginning in 2015, until which time Calvin Fraser will continue to be the Secretary General. This appointment represents a historic landmark for CTF as it is the first time a woman has held the position in the Federation’s 94-year history. Hallett DaSilva is currently an International Program Officer at CTF, and will continue in that position until January 2015.

Here’s the CTF Executive Committee for 2014-2015:

  • Dianne Woloschuk, President
  • Heather Smith, President-Designate
  • Norm Gould, Vice-President (The Manitoba Teachers’ Society)
  • Maureen Weinberger, Vice-President (Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario)
  • Shelley Morse, Vice-President (Nova Scotia Teachers Union)
  • H. Mark Ramsankar, Vice-President (The Alberta Teachers’ Association)

The Canadian Teachers’ Federation is an alliance of nearly 200,000 elementary and secondary educators from 17 organizations (15 Members, one affiliate member and one Associate Member across Canada). CTF is also a member of Education International, a global alliance of educators. Follow CTF on  Twitter: @CanTeachersFed and @EnseigneCanada.



CTF President Dianne Woloschuk


Francine Filion, CTF Director of Communications,
613-688-4314 (office) or 613-899-4247 (cell)