Heather Smith becomes new Canadian Teachers’ Federation President at Annual General Meeting

July 20, 2015

Ottawa Heather Smith has become the new President of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF), following a changeover today at the CTF Annual General Meeting (AGM) in Ottawa.

Smith is replacing current CTF President Dianne Woloschuk, who served her two year term from 2013 to 2015. Smith, who was elected as President-Designate at last year’s AGM, is a principal from Bathurst, New Brunswick.

“Throughout my career I have had the chance to work with countless talented students and teachers, all of whom have taught me valuable lessons about the issues and obstacles in Canadian education today,” she said.

“I look forward to the challenges ahead and the chance to work in partnership with my fellow educators, so as to make their voices heard on the national stage.”

A valued member and former president of the New Brunswick Teachers’ Association (NBTA), Smith was named one of Canada’s Outstanding Principals by the Learning Partnership in 2011 and will bring more than 32 years of teaching experience to CTF. She holds a bachelor of Child Study degree in Elementary and Special Education and a Master of Education in Literacy from Mount Saint Vincent University. She has also previously served as the Vice-President on the CTF Executive Committee.

In addition to Smith becoming President, other AGM delegates were elected for a year-long term on the CTF Executive Committee.

Here’s the CTF Executive Committee for 2015-2016:

  • Heather Smith, President (New Brunswick Teachers’ Association)
  • Norman Gould, Vice-President (Manitoba Teachers’ Society)
  • Carol Jolin, Vice-President (Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens)
  • Gayla Meredith, Vice-President (Northwest Territories Teachers’ Association)
  • Mark Ramsankar, Vice-President (The Alberta Teachers’ Association)

The Canadian Teachers’ Federation is an alliance of nearly 200,000 elementary and secondary educators from 17 organizations (15 Members, one Affiliate Member and one Associate Member across Canada). CTF is also a member of Education International, a global alliance of educators. Follow CTF on  Twitter: @CanTeachersFed and @EnseigneCanada.




CTF President Heather Smith


Francine Filion, CTF Director of Communications,
613-688-4314 (office) or 613-899-4247 (cell)