Over 50 Canadian teachers heading overseas to work with counterparts in support of public education

June 29, 2016

Ottawa – The Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF) will be sending 54 teachers to 11 African and Caribbean countries to work with teacher colleagues in those countries as part of its Project Overseas (PO) program which marks its 55th anniversary this summer.

“PO gives teachers the opportunity to share their knowledge and expertise with other teachers overseas, as well as learn from colleagues in different settings. It’s a mutual learning experience,” says CTF President Heather Smith. “Each team of teachers learns from one another as they collaborate to strengthen their skills.”

PO participants will take part in orientation workshops in Ottawa, from July 2-4, prior to their departure to their respective destinations, July 4 or 5. The orientation covers a variety of topics such as safety and security, cross-cultural communication, team building, and best practice in development cooperation to better prepare participants for their term abroad. The three-day workshop complements the preparation and team building activities participants undertake from February to June.

The PO program, a joint endeavour of the CTF and its Member organizations, sends teachers to approximately 12 countries every summer. The program aims to strengthen publicly funded education, assist teacher organizations overseas as they provide professional services to members, and address gender equality in education.

Participants apply through their respective teacher organizations during the fall.

This year’s participants are:

The Alberta Teachers’ Association (ATA)

  • Travis Dingle, team member to Dominica
  • Lawrence Hunter, team member to Ghana (Youth Policy)
  • Frances Korpela, team member to Ghana (Youth Policy)
  • Brenda Knull, team member to Sierra Leone
  • Debbie Reid, team member to Sierra Leone
  • Robert McKague, team member to St. Vincent
  • Ronald Wiebe, team member to St. Vincent
  • Roxane Thomas, team member to Togo
  • Carla Cuglietta, Team Leader to Uganda (Mbale)
  • William Howe, team member to Uganda (Mbale)

Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation (STF)

  • Katelynn Moldenhauer, team member to Ghana (Nkabom-TAL)
  • Kari Krug, team member to Guyana
  • Kelly Schneider, team member to Guyana
  • Jenna O’Connor, team member to St. Kitts

The Manitoba Teachers’ Society (MTS)

  • Tina Hellmuth, Team Leader to Dominica
  • Debora Barry, Team Leader to Ghana (Nkabom-TAL)
  • Rachel Thiessen, team member to Guyana
  • Myriam Bara, team member to Haïti
  • Michelle Jean-Paul, team member to Togo

Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO)

  • Gabrielle Lemieux, Team Leader to Haïti
  • Joanne Morra, team member to Burkina Faso

Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario (ETFO)

  • Wesley Delve, Team Leader to Burkina Faso
  • Sarah Tulley, team member to Ghana (Nkabom-TAL)
  • Deepakshi Mansharamani, team member to Ghana (Nkabom-TAL)
  • Colleen Witt, team member to Ghana (Youth Policy)
  • Melissa Rabess, Team Leader to Guyana
  • Michael Beetham, Team Leader to Sierra Leone
  • Leah Kearney, team member to St. Kitts
  • Lindsay Freedman, Team Leader to St. Lucia
  • Saroj Patel, team member to St. Lucia
  • Catherine Inglis, team member to St. Vincent
  • Nicole Beaulieu, team member to Togo
  • Patricia Munroe, Team Leader to Uganda (Masaka)
  • Connie Furtney, team member to Uganda (Masaka)
  • Shamim Murji, team member to Uganda (Mbale)

Ontario English Catholic Teachers’ Association (OECTA)

  • Andrea Morrison, team member to Dominica
  • Heather Hickey, Team Leader to St. Kitts
  • Andrea DeFrancesco, team member to St. Kitts
  • Maria Fatima Gomes, team member to St. Lucia
  • Rosalie Mittica, team member to St. Lucia
  • Alan Lap-Lam Kwok, Team Leader to St. Vincent
  • Monica Wilson, team member to St. Vincent
  • Ljiljana Lontos, team member to Uganda (Mbale)

Quebec Provincial Association of Teachers (QPAT)

  • Claudine Bodson, Team Leader to Togo

New Brunswick Teachers’ Association (NBTA)

  • Anne Ervin, team member to Dominica
  • Michelle Basque, team member to Haïti

Nova Scotia Teachers Union (NSTU)

  • Owen Ferguson, Team Leader to Ghana (Youth Policy)
  • Dany Janvier-MacIntyre, team member to Haïti

Prince Edward Island Teachers’ Federation (PEITF)

  • Megan Morrison, team member to Uganda (Masaka)

Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers’ Association (NLTA)

  • Rodney Drover, team member to Sierra Leone

Nunavut Teachers’ Association (NTA)

  • Andrew Porteous, team member to Dominica
  • Kelsey Nickel, team member to Uganda (Masaka)

Yukon Teachers’ Association (YTA)

  • David Trevor Ratcliff, team member to St. Vincent

Syndicat des enseignantes et enseignants du programme francophone de la Colombie Britannique (SEPF)

  • Francine Masse, team member to Burkina Faso

Founded in 1920, the Canadian Teachers’ Federation is a national alliance of provincial and territorial Member organizations that represent nearly 200,000 teachers across Canada. CTF is also a member of Education International. @CanTeachersFed



Heather Smith, CTF President


Francine Filion, CTF Director of Communications
Office: 613-688-4314, or cell: 613-899-4247
[email protected]