Alberta’s H. Mark Ramsankar assumes presidency of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation

July 14, 2017

OTTAWA – H. Mark Ramsankar will take over the presidency of the Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF), following a changeover today at the CTF’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the Ottawa Marriott Hotel. Ramsankar replaces Heather Smith, who served as the Federation’s President from 2015 to 2017. Ramsankar, the former president of The Alberta Teachers’ Association (ATA), was elected as President-Designate at last year’s AGM.

“The support and encouragement I’ve received from Alberta teachers over the years has been tremendous,” said Ramsankar. “I’m extremely grateful to them and look forward to serving them, along with their Canadian colleagues, in my new capacity.”

In addition to Ramsankar becoming President, AGM delegates elected new vice-presidents for a year-long term on the CTF Executive Committee.

Here’s the CTF Executive Committee for 2017-2018:

  • H. Mark Ramsankar, President (The Alberta Teachers’ Association)
  • James Dinn, Vice-President (Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers’ Association)
  • Sam Hammond, Vice-President (The Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario)
  • Clint Johnston, Vice-President (British Columbia Teachers’ Federation)
  • Francine LeBlanc-Lebel, Vice-President (Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens)
  • Bethany MacLeod, Vice-President (Prince Edward Island Teachers’ Federation)

Prior to his election as president-designate, Ramsankar served five terms as a vice-president of CTF, where he chaired the CTF Advisory Committee on Aboriginal Education. In 2013, he was elected president of the ATA following two terms as vice-president. Since 1986, he has worked in the field of education and served Alberta teachers, garnering experience as an educator, assistant principal, and leader of teachers’ associations at the local and provincial level.

While representing teachers across Canada, he continues to focus on developing meaningful relationships among teachers, education leaders and colleagues from the provincial, national and international education community.

Founded in 1920, the Canadian Teachers’ Federation is a national alliance of provincial and territorial Member organizations that represent over 232,000 teachers across Canada. CTF is also a member of Education International. @CanTeachersFed and @EnseigneCanada



Heather Smith, CTF President

Media contact:

Francine Filion, CTF Communications Director,
Office: 613-688-4314, or cell: 613-899-4247