The Union Nationale des Normaliens/Normaliennes et Éducateurs/Éducatrices d’Haïti receives the 2017 CTF Norm Goble World Teachers’ Day Award

October 05, 2017

OTTAWA – The Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF) is proud to announce that the Union Nationale des Normaliens/Normaliennes et Éducateurs/Éducatrices d’Haïti (UNNOEH) is the 2017 recipient of the CTF Norm Goble World Teachers’ Day Award. This award is granted annually to a CTF partner organization for its World Teachers’ Day (WTD) activities. The award was first presented in 2014.

Dr. Norman Goble, better known as Norm, served as the CTF Secretary General for 12 years, from 1970 to 1982, and the Secretary General of the World Confederation of Organizations of the Teaching Profession from 1982 to 1988. Norm made many stellar contributions to education in Canada and throughout the world, and is rightly credited for his work in the initiation of WTD.

Following Norm’s lead, and working through Education International (EI), CTF lobbied for the creation of WTD. In 1994, UNESCO inaugurated WTD to focus attention on the contributions and achievements of teachers, and to highlight teachers’ concerns and priorities regarding education. October 5 was selected as the date to internationally celebrate teachers because on that date in 1966, a special intergovernmental conference adopted the UNESCO recommendation concerning the status of teachers. Norm was a delegate at that seminal meeting. For the first time, this recommendation gave teachers throughout the world an instrument that defines their responsibilities and asserts their rights. In adopting this recommendation, governments unanimously recognized the importance for society to have competent, qualified and motivated teachers.

The UNNOEH is one of CTF’s newest partners, committed to raising the status of the teaching profession and to highlight teachers as professionals in their country. The CTF Norm Goble WTD Award includes CAN$1,000 for the recipient organization to carry out its proposed WTD activities. In addition to the Award, CTF has also cited the Fédération des Syndicats de l’Éducation Nationale in Togo and the National Teachers’ Association of Liberia for Honourable Mentions, which include $500 for the recipients to use in their WTD celebrations.

Those eligible for the award must be national or regional teacher organizations outside of Canada, partners of CTF — that is organizations that have entered into agreements with CTF between 2010 and 2017 — and affiliated with EI. Recipients are chosen based on proposals for WTD activities.

Founded in 1920, the Canadian Teachers’ Federation is a non-profit organization and a national alliance of provincial and territorial Member organizations that represent over 232,000 teachers across Canada. CTF is also a member of Education International. @CanTeachersFed and @EnseigneCanada



H. Mark Ramsankar, CTF President


Beverley Park, CTF Program Officer

Media Contact:

Francine Filion, CTF Director of Communications, 613-688-4314