Canadian teachers travelling overseas for intercultural professional development opportunities

July 04, 2018

OTTAWA – The Canadian Teachers’ Federation (CTF) is sending 53 teachers to nine countries across the Caribbean and Africa to work with resident teacher colleagues. The endeavour is part of CTF’s annual Project Overseas (PO), which celebrates its 57th anniversary this summer.

A joint initiative between the CTF and its Member organizations, PO sends teams of teachers to various countries with the aim of strengthening publicly funded education. The program is designed to assist teacher organizations abroad in providing professional services to their members, and in addressing topics including gender equality and special education.
“PO is a fantastic program that enables teachers to collaborate with fellow public educators across international borders,” said CTF President H. Mark Ramsankar. “The opportunity to exchange information and resources allows teachers to learn from one another, and practice integrating these skills into classrooms around the world.”
Participants will gather in Ottawa for orientation sessions from July 2-4, with this year marking the first occasion where workshops are held at the University of Ottawa. The three days of preparations will cover a number of subjects including health and safety, intercultural competence, positive team dynamics, social media guidelines, project financing, and partner organization goals. Participants will also learn historical, political, cultural, and societal details pertaining to their country of assignment.
Teams will depart from Ottawa on July 4 and 5, and remain overseas for a three- to four-week period. 
This year’s participants are:
The Alberta Teachers’ Association (ATA)
  • Carolyn Weiler, team member to Burkina Faso
  • Kimberlee Carson, team leader to Ghana (New Entrants)
  • Lawrence Hunter, team leader to Ghana (Nkabom)
  • Julia DeGirolamo, team member to Ghana (Nkabom)
  • Robert McKague, team leader to Grenada
  • Betty Fu, team member to Grenada
  • Carmen Pon, team member to Sierra Leone
  • Ellen Braaten, team member to Sierra Leone
  • Christie Magill, team member to Uganda (Central)
  • Michael Rae Molzan, team member to Uganda (Southwest)

Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation (STF)

  • Stacy Hill, team member to Grenada

The Manitoba Teachers’ Society (MTS)

  • Lindsey Sturgeon, team member to Grenada
  • Hylin McLaren, team leader to Guyana
  • Michelle Rosner, team member to Haiti (CNEH)
  • François Rémillard, team member to Haiti (FENATEC/UNNOEH)
  • Audrey Clempson, team member to Uganda (Central)

Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO)

  • Hugo Prud’homme, team member to Burkina Faso
  • Gabrielle Lemieux, team leader to Togo

Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario (ETFO)

  • Bruno Dallaire, team leader to Burkina Faso
  • Charlotte Davet, team member to Burkina Faso
  • Martine Engel, team member to Ghana (New Entrants)
  • David Douglass, team member to Ghana (Nkabom)
  • Laurie Mackechnie, team member to Grenada
  • Filomena Yamashita, team member to Guyana
  • Marie-France Jeaurond, team member to Haiti (CNEH)
  • Nicole Beaulieu, team leader to Haiti (FENATEC/UNNOEH)
  • Natasha Feghali, team member to Haiti (FENATEC/UNNOEH)
  • Gary Stewart, team leader to Sierra Leone
  • Cheryl Sheffield, team leader to St. Vincent
  • Reed Thomas, team member to Togo
  • Melissa Rabess, team leader to Uganda (Central)
  • Peggy Sue Bacon, team member to Uganda (Southwest)

Ontario English Catholic Teachers’ Association (OECTA)

  • Alan Kwok, team member to Ghana (New Entrants)
  • Margaret Myers, team member to Grenada
  • Michelle Power, team member to Guyana
  • Natalie Daragon, team member to Sierra Leone
  • Sandra Rajic, team member to St. Vincent
  • Sarah Robinson, team member to Togo
  • Rhonda Fox, team leader to Uganda (Southwest)
  • Mary Charles Hills, team member to Uganda (Southwest)

Quebec Provincial Association of Teachers (QPAT)

  • Sandy Plamondon, team leader to Haiti (CNEH)

New Brunswick Teachers’ Association (NBTA)

  • Stephanie Marr, team member to Ghana (Nkabom)
  • Annette Stehouwer, team member to Uganda (Central)
  • Anne Ervin, team member to Uganda (Southwest)

Nova Scotia Teachers Union (NSTU)

  • Juanita Romard, team member to Guyana
  • Julie Mireault-Wiseman, team member to Togo

Prince Edward Island Teachers’ Federation (PEITF)

  • Megan Morrison, team member to Haiti (CNEH)
  • Lana Mill, team member to Haiti (FENATEC/UNNOEH)

Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers’ Association (NLTA)

  • Ashleigh Hudson, team member to Ghana (New Entrants)

Yukon Teachers’ Association (YTA)

  • Jennifer Fox, team member to St. Vincent

Nunavut Teachers’ Association (NTA)

  • Gail Matthews, team member to St. Vincent
  • Danielle Scarlett, team member to Uganda (Central)

Syndicat des enseignantes et enseignants du programme francophone de la Colombie‑Britannique (SEPF)

  • Pierre Bibeau, team member to Togo

Founded in 1920, the CTF is a non-profit organization and a national alliance of provincial and territorial Member organizations that represent over 238,000 teachers across Canada. The CTF is also a member of Education International. @CanTeachersFed and @EnseigneCanada

CTF President H. Mark Ramsankar
Francine Filion, CTF Communications Director, 613-899-4247 or [email protected]