The CTF/FCE Indigenous Elder is Deb St. Amant (Bezhig Waabshke Ma’iingan Gewetigaabo) of the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario (ETFO), who is the first Elder-in-Residence at Queen’s University Faculty of Education, a position she has held since 2017, and is also the coordinator of the Aboriginal Teacher Education Program at Queen’s.

Deb volunteers in the Indigenous community as a member of the Katarokwi Grandmothers’ Council, the Land Council, the Kingston Indigenous Languages Nest, and the Kingston Thunder Women’s Group (Ontario Native Women’s Association).

She works as an Indigenous education consultant for the Limestone District School Board, the Algonquin and Lakeshore Catholic District School Board, and the Centre ontarien de prévention des agressions (COPA).

Deb has facilitated Indigenous education workshops throughout Ontario, from Attawapiskat to Windsor, for COPA, ETFO, the OTF, the Ontario Arts Council, and the Indigenous Education Office of the Ministry of Education. She has co-presented at the Indspire Conference, and co-written Indigenous resources for COPA, the OTF, ETFO, and Right to Play. In 2014, Deb authored a book for pre-service teachers called First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Student Success.

Deb taught in the elementary panel for 30 years, retiring in 2012. She was the first Indigenous person elected to the provincial Executive of ETFO where she served for four years (while still teaching full time). She was a member of the OTF’s Board of Governors and the CTF/FCE’s Advisory Committee on Indigenous Education. The CTF/FCE chose Deb to represent the Canadian teachers of Indigenous ancestry at the Sixth Education International (EI) World Congress in Cape Town, South Africa, where she shared Shannen’s Dream with the Indigenous Caucus.

Her passion for Indigenous education has her busier now than ever before.

Deb St. Amant (Bezhig Waabshke Ma’iingan Gewetigaabo), de la Fédération des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’élémentaire de l’Ontario (FEEO), est la première aînée en résidence à la Faculté d’éducation de l’Université Queen’s, poste qu’elle occupe depuis 2017, et est également coordonnatrice du programme de formation pédagogique autochtone de cette même université.

Deb St. Amant sert bénévolement la communauté autochtone en tant que membre du Katarokwi Grandmothers’ Council, du Land Council, du Kingston Indigenous Languages Nest et du Kingston Thunder Women’s Group (Ontario Native Women’s Association).

Elle est également conseillère en éducation autochtone pour le compte du Limestone District School Board, de l’Algonquin and Lakeshore Catholic District School Board et du Centre ontarien de prévention des agressions (COPA).

Elle a animé des ateliers sur l’éducation autochtone partout en Ontario, depuis Attawapiskat jusqu’à Windsor, pour le COPA, la FEEO, la FEO, le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario et le Bureau de l’éducation autochtone du ministère de l’Éducation. Elle a été coanimatrice à la conférence de l’organisme Indspire et a corédigé des ressources autochtones pour le COPA, la FEO, la FEEO et Right to Play. Deb St. Amant est l’auteure du livre First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Student Success (2014) destiné aux enseignantes et enseignants en formation initiale.

Elle a enseigné au palier élémentaire pendant 30 ans et a pris sa retraite en 2012. Elle a été la première Autochtone à se faire élire au Comité exécutif provincial de la FEEO, où elle a siégé pendant quatre ans (tout en continuant à enseigner à temps plein). Elle a été membre du Conseil d’administration de la FEO et du Comité consultatif de l’éducation autochtone de la FCE/CTF. La FCE/CTF a choisi Deb St. Amant pour représenter le personnel enseignant canadien d’ascendance autochtone au sixième Congrès mondial de l’Internationale de l’Éducation qui a eu lieu au Cap, en Afrique du Sud, où elle a parlé du Rêve de Shannen au Caucus des peuples autochtones.

Sa passion pour l’éducation autochtone fait qu’elle est plus occupée que jamais.